Skip to main content

Our Governing Body consists of a clinical Chair, a Chief Executive/Accountable Officer, Non-Executive Directors (clinical and non-clinical), Executive Directors (clinical and non-clinical), lay member observers, and the Local Authority Director of Public Health.

The Governing Body is supported by six Committees, who work together to commission the best possible healthcare services for the Somerset population:

  • Clinical Executive Committee
  • Quality and Patient Safety Committee
  • Primary Care Commissioning Committee
  • Audit Committee
  • Finance and Performance Committee
  • Remuneration Committee

The Governing Body’s role is to ensure we function effectively, efficiently and economically, and in accordance with the CCG’s principles of good governance and its Constitution.

Key responsibilities of the Governing Body are:

  • Setting our vision and strategy
  • Approving our commissioning plans and financial policies
  • Monitoring local providers’ performance and quality
  • Approving annual reports
  • Ensuring that we debate issues in an open and transparent way
  • Ensuring we have effective patient and public participation in commissioning healthcare.

Governing Body Meetings

All our Governing Body meetings are open to the public to attend. Notification of the meetings is sent out to our mailing list a week before the meetings. If you would like to raise a public question, please download the Public Questions Form and email to

Meeting dates, locations and related documents are available in the meetings and papers section. 

Annual General Meeting

Each year we hold an Annual General Meeting (AGM) to share our work with patients and the public.  We focus on what we have achieved over the previous year and our plans for the year ahead.

This year, due to Covid-19, we held the AGM on 15 September 2020 as a virtual event, using Microsoft Teams LiveEvents, and members of the public were invited to view the proceedings.

Watch our recording of the 2020 Annual General Meeting

Governing Body Members

Dr Jayne Chidgey-Clark – Non-Executive Director and Registered Nurse

Sandra Corry – Director of Quality and Nursing

Lou Evans – Non-Executive Director, CCG Vice Chair and Chair of Audit Committee (Lay Member)

Dr Ed Ford – CCG Chair

Basil Fozard – Non-Executive Director, Secondary Care Doctor

Judith Goodchild – Chair of Healthwatch (Lay Member Observer)

Trudi Grant – Local Authority Director of Public Health

Wendy Grey – Non-Executive Director, Member Practice Representative

Maria Heard – Programme Director, Fit For My Future

David Heath – Non-Executive Director, Patient and Public Engagement (Lay Member)

Alison Henly – Director of Finance, Performance and Contracting

Trudi Mann – Non-Executive Director, Member Practice Representative

Grahame Paine – Non-Executive Director, Finance and Performance (Lay Member)

James Rimmer – Chief Executive/Accountable Officer

Sandra Wilson – Chair of the Somerset Patient Participation Groups (PPGs) Chairs’ Network (Lay Member Observer)